History History

Namibia, formerly South-West Africa, was proclaimed a German protectorate by Otto von Bismarck in 1884 after the Berlin Conference that carved up Africa into coronial possessions of imperial powers. The territory then became known as German South West Africa. The conquest of German South-West Africa by British-South African forces during World War I resulted in its subsequent administration by South Africa under a 1920 League of Nations mandate. On 19 April 1960 the South-West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO) was formed as an anti-colonial liberation movement.

In 1966, the People's Liberation Army of Namibia (PLAN), SWAPO’s military wing, launched the armed struggle that effectively culminated in South African forces capitulating to end its illegal occupation of Namibia, in accordance with a United Nations peace plan for the independence of Namibia. In 1989, the implementation of United Nations Resolution 435 calling for free and fair elections under the supervision of the United Nations Transitional Assistance Group (UNTAG), resulted in SWAPO coming to power, after 106 years of colonialism and a protracted political and armed struggle for national liberation.

Namibia attained its hard-won independence on 21 March 1990, with Dr. Sam Nujoma becoming the Founding President of an independent and sovereign state, the Republic of Namibia. President Nujoma stepped down in 2005 after serving three terms. A smooth democratic hand-over of power ensued when Hifikepunye Pohamba was elected President in November 2004 following a landslide electoral victory.

On 21 March 2010, President Hifikepunye Pohamba was sworn-in for a second term after scoring 75.25% of the presidential vote in the November 2009 elections. Since the presidential and parliamentary elections in 1995, SWAPO obtained two-thirds majority which it retains up to date; having gained 74.29% of the National Assembly vote in 2014 elections.

President Pohamba stepped down in 2015, and again smoothly handed over power to H.E Dr. Hage G. Geingob who was sworn in on 21st March 2015 as the third, democratically elected President of the Republic of Namibia. It is imported to note that after independence of Namibia was achieved independence we focused on reconciling Namibia to secure peace. We succeeded in building a reconciled society, a society at peace with itself, with its neighbours and at peace with the world at large. Today Namibia is a shining example on the African continent as the most peaceful and stable country.

Through its new narrative anchored around the concept of vision 2030, the Namibian leadership is effectively addressing the socio-economic gap that still exists in the society after the liquidation of colonialism and apartheid. The main goal of this new narrative, whose objectives are outlined in the Vision 2030 concept, is to build a developed industrialised peaceful and democratic society by 2030. Namibia has been successful in establishing a robust governance framework and implementing sound macroeconomic policies.

One of the priorities now is to wage an all-out war on poverty and concomitant inequality. This requires aggressive but working policies that can propel faster economic growth, improved job creation and improved service delivery.

That can be done successfully only by pursuing policies and strategies to safeguard macroeconomic stability, promote economic diversification and transformation of the Namibian economy to be more inclusive and resilient to internal and external shocks. Namibia is confident and sure to continue to pursue its developmental agenda and remain a haven of peace, stability and prosperity in a world full of turmoil.

To this rare peaceful and stable environment, we invite all our cooperating business partners and investors to come and do business with and in Namibia, the jewel of the SADC region. Come and invest in the gem that is truly worth investing in- Namibia.

Your investment in Namibia is not only safe and profitable, but it is also complemented by the unique and unprecedented beauty of fauna and flora inexperienced anywhere in the four corners of the globe.